OLD SALTmost inproved old salt

The original Most Improved Trophy and was donated by Nancy Hood in 1970.  In 1973 she added a second trophy.  The original trophy, a silver compote, became the New Salt Trophy, and a silver bread tray became the Old Salt Trophy.

This trophy shall be rotating trophy presented to the Windlass who has sailed with the Windlasses for more than three years and who has shown the most improvement in her sailing ability in the pram during the year.

The Race Committee shall select the winners and get their names shall be engraved on the respective trophies.  If no member is thought by the race committee to be deserving of either of these awards, it may elect not to award it for that year.

This trophy was replaced in 1989 but Shirlan Rymer and Maxine Fredericks with a silver Revere bowl.  An appropriate keeper charm shall be awarded to the winners the following year.


1973 Hilda Crawford
1974 Connie Lundeen
1975 Babs Moritz
1976 Not Awarded
1977 Kupe Cushman
1978 Bobbie Partain
1979 Bonnie Voight
1980 Marianne DeCosta
1981 Cyn McClaud
1982 Not Awarded
1983 Ellen Hardgrave
1984 Jane Gehris
1985 Barbara Schmitz
1986 Barbara Frietsch
1987 Mary Schwanz
1988 Nancy Farina
1989 Pat Besch
1990 Fran Abilock
1991 Sandy Huff
1992 Phyllis Phillips
1993 Not Awarded
1994 Helen Orton
1995 Cynthia Avance
1996 Arlene Lane
1997 Teddy Buell
1997 Amy Steeves
1998 Gerri Pringle
1999 Fran Abilock
2000 Karen Harmon
2001 Nancy Cooper
2002 Mary Jane Scott
2003 Maria Dickson
2004 Marti Page
2005 Dottie Major
2006 Mary Jo Renner
2007 Lisa Conlon
2008 Tangi Bohlmann
2009 Barb Ewert
2010 none
2011 none
2012 Diane Schmidt
2013 Shirley Anderson

2015 Maria Giroffi

2016 Jan Bowers